Methodologies in Egyptology and Mesopotamian Studies Workshop

Faculty Advisors:
Gojko Barjamovic (NELC), barjamovic@fas.harvard.edu
Peter der Manuelian (NELC), peter_manuelian@harvard.edu

Graduate Student Coordinators:
Trey Nation,
wnation@g.harvard.edu
Andrew Pottorf, apottorf@g.harvard.edu
Hilo Sugita, hsugita@g.harvard.edu
Laura Taronas, ltaronas@g.harvard.edu

Methodologies in Egyptology and Mesopotamian Studies (MEMS) has two main goals: (1) to promote dialogue among scholars from diverse fields related to the study of ancient history, including primarily the fields of Egyptology and Assyriology, and (2) to discuss the application of various methodologies, such as anthropology, archaeology and archaeometry, conservation, digital humanities as well as various other mathematical and scientific approaches. While the workshop is coordinated by Assyriologists and Egyptologists, we are eager to include any who have an interest in the various methodologies employed in the study of ancient history.

Meetings begin at 6pm in HSM 201 with drinks and refreshments, and include ample time for questions and discussion after the presentation.

Schedule for Spring 2019
Wednedsay, 4/3 - Sara Zaia (PhD, Egyptian Archaeology, Harvard)
Wednesday, 4/24 - Jen Thum (PhD, Egyptian Archaeology, Brown)

Future dates/speakers TBA